Design Thinking at Carrefour: Everything Old is New Again

I recently saw a “revolutionary” new shopping cart that’s being tested at Carrefour. But the thing was, I had seen it years, and I mean years, before. It was a version of the IDEO shopping cart. And then I started laughing because just a few weeks ago I read a comment saying that if IDEO was so great, why is it that you never see any of its concepts. Wow, I wish I could remember where I saw that comment.

But I did find a picture of the shopping cart. You can see, and read about, it here:

http://www.inprocess-group.com/works/carrefour-mobi-the-trolley-of-the-future/

The lesson? Sometimes what seems like a failure isn’t a failure. It’s just before its time. Unfortunately, it’s not always easy to see the difference.

