What’s Stopping You From Creative Thinking?

Man thinking on a train journey.

Man thinking on a train journey. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

You know you want to do it. You know you need to do it. But, try as you might, you don’t do it. Why don’t you think in an insanely creative way?

I can hear the excuses now, probably the biggest one being, “I’m just not creative.” But that’s just an excuse. Because even though creativity may come easier to some then to others, everyone has it in them.

One thing that I think people have to let go of is their perception of what it means to be creative. Most people I know think you have to be an artist, a fashion designer, or a musician to be creative. But that’s not the definition.

cre·a·tive

adjective \krē-ˈā-tiv, ˈkrē-ˌ\

: having or showing an ability to make new things or think of new ideas

: using the ability to make or think of new things : involving the process by which new ideas, stories, etc., are created

From Merrium-Webster

OK, so I bet the next thing people will get stuck on is the word “new.” I know that’s my problem. I try to squeeze new ideas out of my head, and then get disappointed when I find that someone else already came up with them. But the thing is, the idea only has to be new to you (that’s what I’ve read anyway) and that knowledge makes me feel super creative because I’m always coming up with something that’s new to me.

My creative inhibitions still haven’t disappeared, though, and they won’t until I get rid of habits that are blocking my creativity. Like putting imaginary boundaries on problems and solutions (have you ever tried to connect the nine dots?). And I know that I don’t sometimes follow my instincts which falls under being afraid of taking risks (or not wanting to look stupid).

So there, I’ve shared and am making it a point to make a change.

What’s stopping you from creating thinking?

Whether you share or not, if you want to be a creative thinker, you need to drop the habit(s) that’s keeping you from doing it. It won’t be easy. It will require work. But it can be done.

Habits take us to where we were yesterday and our attitudes keep us there.
— Confucius
The only difference between a person being obsolete at 35 and a pioneer at 70 lies in their ability to change their attitude.
— C. Kettering
One thought on “What’s Stopping You From Creative Thinking?

  1. Pingback: Why I Quit my Job with No Back up | SoshiTech - Social Media Technology - Soshitech.com

Comments are closed.